2024 Nissen Emery Award finalists announced

By Patricia Duffy | March 16, 2024
2024 Nissen Emery Award finalists

The College Gymnastics Association (CGA) announced the 2024 Nissen Emery Award finalists on Saturday.

The Nissen Emery Award, similar to the AAI Award, is awarded to the year’s outstanding senior collegiate gymnast who has an “outstanding record of achievement during his college career.”

The 2024 Nissen Emery Award finalists are:

  • Aidan Cuy – William & Mary
  • Ashton Anaya – Illinois
  • Colt Walker – Stanford
  • Connor McCool – Illinois
  • Donovan Hewitt – Ohio State
  • Evgeny Siminiuc – Michigan
  • Garrett Braunton – Air Force
  • Jack Freeman – Oklahoma
  • Javier Alfonso – Michigan
  • Michael Fletcher – Illinois
  • Noah Newfeld – California
  • Sam Phillips – Nebraska
  • Syam Buradagunta – Navy

In addition to their exceptional athletic achievements, the finalists and winner must:

  • Be an example of good sportsmanship and fair play… a champion in defeat as well as victory.
  • He must maintain a high standard of scholarship throughout his college career.

College gymnastics coaches, student-athletes, and accredited college gymnastics judges submit nominations for the award. The gymnasts who receive the highest number of nominations are then placed on a final ballot, which is then voted on by the same group.

The 2023 Nissen Emery Award winner was Michigan’s Paul Juda.

This year’s award will be presented at the 2024 NCAA Men’s Gymnastics Championships, which will be held at Ohio State’s Covelli Center from April 19-20.

Inscribed on the award is the following motto:

“The true champion seeks excellence physically, mentally, socially, and morally.”