2020 Nissen Emery Award finalists announced

By Patricia Duffy | March 7, 2020
2020 Nissen Emery Award finalists announced

The College Gymnastics Association (CGA) announced the 2020 Nissen Emery Award finalists on Friday.

The Nissen Emery Award is considered the “Heisman Trophy” of men’s gymnastics and, similar to the AAI Award, is awarded to the year’s outstanding senior collegiate gymnast who has an “outstanding record of achievement during his college career.”

2020 Nissen Emery Award finalists

  • Jake Bonnay – Nebraska
  • David Jessen – Stanford
  • Stephen Nedoroscik – Penn State
  • Michael Paradise – Illinois
  • Bailey Perez – Stanford
  • Sam Zakutney – Penn State

In addition, the winner of the award must meet these requirements:

  • He must be an example of good sportsmanship and fair play… a champion in defeat as well as victory.
  • He must maintain a high standard of scholarship throughout his college career.

College gymnastics coaches, student-athletes, and accredited college gymnastics judges submit nominations for the award. The gymnasts who receive the highest number of nominations are then placed on a final ballot, which is then voted on by the same group.

The 2019 Nissen Emery Award winner was Oklahoma’s Yul Moldauer.

This year’s award will be presented at the men’s NCAA Gymnastics Championships, which will be held at the Crisler Center in Ann Arbor, Mich. from April 17-18, 2020.

Inscribed on the award is the following motto:

“The true champion seeks excellence physically, mentally, socially, and morally.”