2023 Winter Cup: Current and former men’s NCAA stars eyeing U.S. national team selection

By Alex Wittenberg | February 23, 2023
Oklahoma alum and Olympian Yul Moldauer swings on the still rings during the 2022 OOFOS U.S. Gymnastics Championships.
Oklahoma alum and Olympian Yul Moldauer swings on the still rings during the 2022 OOFOS U.S. Gymnastics Championships. (© Amy Sanderson)

Current and former NCAA gymnasts are set to compete on Friday and Sunday at the 2023 Winter Cup for a spot on the U.S. national team. 

Forty-five of the 48 men registered to compete are current, former, or future NCAA athletes, according to the College Gymnastics Association, and nine are current Stanford gymnasts. Michigan and Penn State are each sending four current team members, while Oklahoma is sending six. 

EVO gymnasts and former NCAA athletes Shane Wiskus, Stephen Nedoroscik, Alex Diab, and Colin Van Wicklen will also be vying for titles. Their teammates and up-and-comers Drake Andrews and David Shamah will be on the floor alongside them, while Yul Moldauer will be competing for 5280.

The Winter Cup marks the halfway point of the NCAA men’s season and offers college gymnasts a chance to compete against the best elite athletes and prove their mettle at one of the biggest gymnastics events of the year. USA Gymnastics uses the Winter Cup and other competitions to inform the selection process for international assignments and the national team.

Stanford’s Brody Malone and Colt Walker are absent from this year’s start list, unfortunately, but the fight for the all-around title will still be intense. 

Day 1 of the senior men’s competition kicks off on Friday at 1:30 p.m. ET, and Day 2 will start on Sunday at 5:30 p.m. ET. Both days of competition will be broadcast by live stream on USA Gymnastics’ YouTube page.

Here is who’s competing from each NCAA program: 


  • Jeremy Bischoff
  • Taylor Burkhart
  • Ian Gunther
  • Asher Hong
  • Ian Lasic-Ellis
  • Riley Loos
  • Curran Phillips
  • Blake Sun (alumnus)
  • Khoi Young
  • Evan Hymanson


  • Jack Freeman
  • Spencer Goodell
  • Vitaliy Guimaraes withdrew due to illness
  • Zachary Nunez withdrew due to illness
  • Daniel Simmons withdrew due to illness
  • Ignacio Yockers
  • Yul Moldauer (alumnus)
  • Colin Van Wicklen (alumnus)


  • Javier Alfonso
  • Landen Blixt
  • Cameron Bock (alumnus)
  • Rithik Puri
  • Fred Richard

Penn State

  • Michael Artlip
  • Matt Cormier
  • Michael Jaroh
  • Joshua Karnes
  • Stephen Nedoroscik (alumnus)


  • Mike Fletcher
  • Connor McCool
  • Ian Skirkey
  • Alex Diab (alumnus)


  • Shane Wiskus (alumnus)


  • Taylor Christopulos

Ohio State

  • Kameron Nelson

Air Force

  • Garrett Braunton
  • Patrick Hoopes


  • Isaiah Drake


  • Noah Newfeld